Sunday, April 3, 2011

Back to the Single Life

Well... for those of you who have not heard, Travis and I broke up on Wednesday.... I think this quote pretty much sums up how I feel about it:

“Watching you walk out of my life does not make me bitter or cynical about love. But rather makes me realize that if I wanted so much to be with the wrong person how beautiful it will be when the right one comes along.”

I believe that people come and go into our lives for specific reasons. Before I met Travis I was living the crazy single life, perfectly content with being a "serial dater." Never anyone serious, never anyone to bring home... just people I would have fun with, get bored, and poof on to the next one. I pictured my future wedding day as just a party with close friends and family not celebrating a marriage, but celebrating my independence... And I could wear a white dress for kicks!... Haha this sounds sooo silly now that I think about it, but I was a hopeless romantic too afraid to fall in love.

Anyway, I think that through this relationship, I have learned, that I do want a life partner, and I don't want to be single for forever. Don't get me wrong, I'm not on this mission to find "the one" or anything like that. I think I just realized that I don't have to have a heart of stone, and that it is okay to let people in and trust them. While I am sad this relationship didn't work out, I accept that God has a better plan for me and that everything happens for a reason.

I am so thankful for all of you that called and checked on me, and for those of you that took me out and spent time with me. It's made these past few days so much less painful! This weekend was a blast! Friday night I stayed out with my girls until 4:30 in the morning!! OMG... I haven't done anything wild like that in forever! We had so much fun singing and dancing the night away!! Saturday, I sang Karaoke, I know I must've sounded awful, but it was so fun to let loose! Today I subbed at the nursery, and I went to an award ceremony, because I got a scholarship for the fall!!!

Anyway, I'm still looking for jobs everywhere, including Corpus, New Braunfels, Austin, San Marcos, and San Antonio. Keep your eyes and ears open for me please!!! I need all the help I can get, because jobs are so hard to come by with this economy! I'm staying focused on school, I have lots of projects coming up... and of course it's crunch time on my thesis.

While this isn't the happiest moment in my life, I realized how blessed I am, and I am thankful. I am staying focused, having a good time, and just enjoying life. God has an amazing plan for me, and I am just going to enjoy living out His plan. :)

Monday, March 28, 2011

Monday = Not FunDay

Whew! These past few days have just worn me out! I'm in need of some serious sleep. Thursday and Friday were filled with working on thesis, job searching, and grading tests. I hung out with Brittany for a little while on Friday; it was good girl time :)

Saturday morning was the American Heart Association's Heart Walk. I was really happy ESG decided to do the heart walk instead of Relay for Life. I feel like people forget that heart disease is actually the leading cause of death in America. And with all the heart issues dad faced this past year, I really wanted us to donate our time and money to the American heart association this year. We only raised about $200, but hey, that's $200 dollars they didn't have. Chik-Fil-A was a a big sponsor of the event, which I kind of think is an oxymoron... Fast food @ a heartwalk?! At least it wasn't McDonalds. I walked most o
f it, but I did jog a little.

After the heart walk, I nearly had a heart attack when I got home, because I smelled something burning under the hood of my car. Terrified I was going to blow up, I had mom drop me off in New Braunfels so that I could ride with Krystina to the wedding... Turns out, I spilt a lil oil when adding it a couple days ago, and that was the burning smell. I'm not going to catch on fire, YAY! :)

If you ever plan on staying at the La Quinta in Boerne, TX, DO NOT USE MAPQUEST FOR DIRECTIONS!... You will end up at a random house on some back road! We drove an extra hour, to end up on this back road, sooo, thank you MapQuest for sending me and Krystina on a wild goose chase! In fact, just find this la Quinta on a good old fashioned road map, because our phones even took us to the wrong place! So then we had to throw on our dresses and book it,
because we were going to be late to the ceremony. While the venue was
gorgeous, let me tell you it was in the middle of nowhere. When a sign on a road says "Loose Livestock", believe me, they mean it!
We saw, sheep, goats, and chickens running loose, and an old pick up with a big hay bell almost had a head on collision with us. Apparently they aren't used to seeing people on the road, and driv
e CRAZY. Soo we finally made it to the wedding, and Kristen looked so pretty in her bridesmaid dress. I drank my beer, I ate both kinds of cake, and was a Little Miss Piggy at the chocolate fountain. After a couple of hours of dancin' we were ready to call it a night.

Sunday, I spent the day grading tests, and then we went to the Lonestar Music Awards. And who was the surprise performer?! RANDY ROGES!! WOOOHOOO! We were sooo excited! I heard lots of singers that I had never heard of and really liked! One guy did all the music himself, and he was sooo entertaining. And the Jack Black look a like, with toe sock water shoes, was extremely entertaining as well! Texas Music Theater in San Marcos is a pretty cool venue, except the bathrooms are at the absolute worst location ever! They really need two sets of powder rooms, one at the back of the place and the others at the front. I'm just saying it'd probably be better that way!

Today, I have definitely had a bad case of the Mondays! I pretty much got no sleep last night, and I'm exhausted today. I've done one lecture, and it was actually a pretty good class. Then I finished up grading exams. I only have one more to grade, that is only because they have not taken it yet. I've done a little job searching, but nothing has caught my eye today- I guess I'm just not in the mood. Other than that, I have one more class to teach, and then it's nap time, followed by thesis time!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Toooo Busy!

Sweeet Jesus! I have come to the conclusion that I am simply too busy to blog every single day... Even though some how I have time to watch Teen Mom2 every week. Anywho...

Tuesday
I got to spend time with my girlfriends! In the morning I had to get up kind of early and finish my weekly lit review for Furney. Anyway, my TV randomly quit coming on like a month ago, so I had to take it to San Antonio. Since it was under warranty it had to go to a place that Samsung approved, and having a place in San Marcos would just be too convenient. But that's okay, because Krystina and Brittany rode down there with me. Thank God! That TV place was not the easiest place to find, and it would have been hard trying to read directions and watch traffic. I really need to get a GPS that will talk to me. After dropping off the TV we had a yummy lunch @ Zios, and Kristen met us! I love that place; they have the absolute best dipping stuff for the bread. Then it was back to good ol' San Marcos. I went for a lovely jog/walk. I'm trying hard to get back in shape!! When I got back I rinsed off, and put up reminders for my students to take their test. Then I took a quick shower, and headed to the school for an ESG meeting. Not very many people showed up to the meeting... ARGH! But we are doing a 5K on Saturday... I know I'm not going to be able to run the entire 3 miles, bc I'm soo out of shape, 3 miles isn't even that far, but gosh golly I'm gonna try! After the meeting I printed out my stuff, then went to the Haag Library, and warmed up my Healthy Choice Frozen Dinner... Is it sad I even eat dinner at Jowers? By then it was class time, and we had a guest speaker. That man was hilarious, and he had to of been at least 80!... and he got around great too! While taking Ivan, home he reminded me we had 2 quizzes to take in our other class; thank God he told me, because I totally forgot! When I got home, I was wiped out, so I called it an early night.

Wednesday

So I woke up early and started reading for my quizzes. I went and lectured for my 9 AM class, and reminded them they had their test Friday. Then I applied for another job. Oh yeah! The other job I applied for said I didn't meet the minimum qualifications, that's weird, I thought I did! RAWR! This other job I applied for is with the American Diabetes Association. It sounds fun! Still keeping my eyes and ears open, I want to apply to at least 5 places a week. So readers of this blog, if you hear of jobs, let me know! Don't get me wrong, I love being a GA and teaching, but I'm ready to make more money, and I'm scared of graduating and not finding a job! So after my "office hours" were over, I came home, and the electricity and water was off. :( We got it taken care of, and now we have lights again! I finished reading the 2 chapters and took my 2 quizzes. I also watched Teen Mom2... Thank God Mom's laptop was fully charged, and I could pick up the neighbors Wifi! Then I took a short nap, got up and played on the WiiFit, and that stupid thing told me I gained 2lbs! GRRR! I've been doing cardio everyday! GEEEEZ!.... Must've been the bread at Zios! LOL. Anyway, I'm trying to take eating healthy more seriously now. After I got done doing my Wiifit, I made me a salad, then headed off to class. When I got home, I looked for more jobs, played some angry birds, then hit the hay!

Today
Right now the plan is to apply for jobs and work on thesis, thesis, thesis! Nothing else!... Oh yeah, and work out of course!

Monday, March 21, 2011

HOLY COW it's been awhile!

Ok... So I quit blogging for awhile, because I realized people actually read my blogs, and it freaked me out a little bit. But I'm over it. Silly and weird I know! Anywho, this will be a little "catch up" blog, and then I'll be back to normal!

Okay soooo, A LOT has happened since my last blog. Helllooooo.... I went to Vegas in January and had a blasty blast, minus the throwing up, I blame buffets and copious amounts of alcohol. I didn't win a car, but I had lots of fun. I think my favorite quote of the trip has to be, "Sally, come quick I can't find the toilet!" Gotta love Krystina. :)

This semester has been busy busy, because I started teaching 2 classes! WHEW! These people take it out of me, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LLLLOOOOOVVVVEEEE teaching! I hope I can get a job lecturing some day!... Keep your eyes open for jobs like this, and let me know!

Next item, I am so behind on my thesis. This week I am seriously getting my butt in gear! Yikes! My other two classes are going okay, minus the 66 on Dr. Furney's test. The highest grade was like an 82?! Geeez! Not to worry though, I'll make it up with my amazing presentation skills and make sure my 2 papers are extra good! Dr. Wilson's class is interesting, we had to go to the children's shelter on Saturday. My heart just goes out to those kids. As one of my students said today, "People should have to take an exam in order to be allowed to have children."

Spring 2011 = Lot's of time spent with family, friends, and Travis. I wrote a test, took a test, watched movies, and drank a green beer. Not as productive as it could have been, but I think I needed a little relaxation. Oh yeah! I applied for a job in CC... it took me TWO HOURS to apply for that thing! GEEZZZ! I also had to quit my nursery job at the church. I need my Sundays. Anywho, I think this catches you up on my life up to this point. Will be back with daily scoops starting tomorrow!