Tuesday, December 14, 2010

You can't win if you bust yourself!

I loved today! I feel like I have a life now!... For at least a month anyway. :) I got up and chillaxed for a bit, and then I headed to my closet... For those of you who don't know, I refer to my office as a closet, because it's literally a closet. P.S. I love the closet, it's so cozy, and I get lots done there! Anyway, I started finishing up Cancun stuff, and then I proctored a final. Then Lynn and I went to lunch at Root Cellar. I got to see her pretty ring, and hear about how Chris proposed. Happy love stories make me happy. :-) The Root cellar is sooo delicious, and the prices are way better at lunch time FYI. Then I headed back to the closet and finished up Cancun stuff.

After that I decided my car needed a bath. It was pretty filthy, so I went through the car wash, and I've decided the HEB carwash sucks, so I'm going to give it a scrub down some other time. Anywho, I picked up chips, salsa, and beer and headed off to our black jack lesson!... Glen and Zina are so nice, and I think we all understand the game now... How to split, double down... that getting a 16 = the kiss of death. yep. By the way, I got sooo lost today. Actually I didn't get lost, because my friends knew where I was, but yeah... lack of sleep and day dreaming = going miles out of the way. I even told Dad while I was driving I had to go because I needed to pay attention to streets, since I didn't know where I was going. Go figure, I still get lost. LOL. Anyway, another day at the office tomorrow, followed by an afternoon with the kiddos at church! I think I'll clean and get organized when I get home tomorrow. I need an intervention, it's so so so sooo beyond messy. I wasn't raised this way... Why can't I keep a clean house?!


Monday, December 13, 2010

Allll done!

1st semester of grad school done... Now I have to wait for grades. EEK! Let's see how research and literature turns out after this last test. I'm guessing I made a C in that class, which sucks, but it's over... wooo hoo!

Now it's time to get caught up on all the things I haven't been doing.
1.) Cancun work stuff- need to take a look at that to do list. I think it's pretty much done though!
2.) Download old 3321 tests for a resource when I teach.
3.) Finish making my syllabi and class schedules.
4.) Outline presentations/notes for 3321 classes.
5.)Sage project... so behind!
6.) Make edits to my proposal.

Yeah... so about this month off, it actually just means that I have Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays 6:30-9:20 open to work on all of this. Oh! And that I can be in CC while I work. :) One day this will all slow down... MAYBE!... Right?

Soo... Idk what to do about this weekend. I want to go to CC Friday for Travis' X-Mas party, but I would have to turn around and come back Saturday, because I have work, and I'm celebrating KP's bday, and the girls Xmas celebration is also the 18th. Then I'd be right back down to CC on the 22nd. I'm not sure how to resolve this dilemma. I really wanna go down there, but that's an awfully quick trip when I'm going to be down there for 2 1/2 weeks a few days later. What to do? Suggestions?

Things I'm looking forward to:
1.) Gambling lessons with Krystina tomorrow.
2.) Tap room on Thursday. (I hope!!)
3.) Spending time with family and friends in CC!! YAY!
4.) CHRISTMAS
5.) Making news years resolutions.
6.) Celebrating a new year!
7.) VEGAS VEGAS VEGAS!!!

For now, I'm going to try to not to stress about grades, because in my heart of hearts I know I tried my hardest, and I know it'll all turn out okay.

Good night loves, and thanks for reading! XOXXOXOO

Friday, December 10, 2010

RELAXATION

Soo... Since I've been feeling overwhelmed, I took it upon myself to step back and not study today. Yes, you read that right, I did not study today.

I woke up and talked to Travis for a bit. Then I went back to bed. When I finally decided I needed to get out of bed I showered then went to work and graded some more of the internship binders. After 4 binders I decided I was done for the day. haha.

Brittany and I then had lunch at Jason's Deli... YUM YUM! I love that girl, she just cracks me up with the things she worries about... I wish I could post her silly stories, but this is my life I share, and I don't want to expose everyone's stories.

After lunch I remembered the beauty school is next door to Jason's Deli. I had heard that they give amazing facials, so I thought I'd try it out, seeing as how I've never had a facial before. It was amazing and so relaxing, and it was very cheap! I highly suggest trying it out if you're in San Marcos. I feel rejuvenated! :-)

Then I came home and watched Oprah. It was interesting. They went back to a town where a man was shunned for getting into a public pool because he had AIDS in 1987. They brought people back that claimed to be "Repulsed by him, his lifestyle, and his disease." Some of them apologized for their narrow mindedness. I'm still amazed at how close minded people can be in this day and age though. Some of these "Christians" give us Christians a bad name, through their lack of empathy, their quick judgement of others, and through their lack of compassion. I really wish these people understood what being a Christian really means.

Now that I'm off my soap box, while I was watching Oprah I wrapped Christmas presents! Yay! I can't wait to give them to everyone! I love giving gifts, it makes me soo happy!

After that, I was about to crack open the books, but then I decided I was going to hang out with Krystina. So I headed to the bowling alley. I ate the parties' food, and I got a few strange looks, but we're gonna go with the philosophy that they weren't judging me for eating their food. HAHA. It was yummy too! Rudy's BBQ!! yum yum yum! It was good to catch up, and I can't wait to celebrate with her tomorrow.

Now I'm in bed, about to call my honey- then go night night. I'm well rested and ready to have a productive day of studying tomorrow!!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

No Life

So lately I've been wondering if I'm taking too much on. I'm starting to feel overwhelmed. It's just so hard for me to say no. I'm concerned I am going to have to start saying no to some projects, and I am scared about the reaction I may get, but what can ya do?

Today was pretty boring, but it was productive! I studied, worked, had a meeting with my prof, studied, and took a test. I think my test went pretty good! Work is pretty busy as it is finals, and everyone is getting caught up on their grading. The Cancun conference is also less than a month away, so those details need to get finalized.

On a dreary note- San Marcos has felt quite lonely lately. I know people and have lots of friends here, but no one I can really just call to go grab coffee or lunch. This makes me sad and even more anxious to graduate. My best friends are only 30 minutes away from me, but we're all busy so that 30 minutes has made quite the difference. Besides my mom, everyone that's dear to my heart is far away from here; primarily in Corpus and one in Dallas. What's even scarier is thinking about where I will end up after graduation. Jobs are a rare find these days, and I'll have to go where ever I find one. I think I'm a friendly person and easy to get along with, so I'm not sure why I'm having trouble getting close to my San Marcos friends. Maybe because I'm so busy with school? Maybe because I'm focused on people outside of San Marcos?... I'm not sad or depressed, I just miss having those close friends where you can just go their apt unannounced, and I don't have that here anymore.

So I'm one test away from a month break of school, but work is about to get busy! I have lots to do to get ready for my class in the spring, and the encyclopedia project is patiently waiting to be hammered out. Actually I don't have a month break from school, my proposal needs lots of work, soooo guess what else I'll be doing?!... and somewhere in there I still need to get my presents wrapped. Some time I wonder what I have gotten myself into... It'll all be worth it in the end I suppose.

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Busy Bee

No... I haven't forgotten about blogging, I just got extremely busy with my thesis proposal, and then I got sick. It's difficult to keep up with everything, but the good news is I am two tests away from being done with school for a month!... Can I push fast forward to December December 16, 2011?... I'm ready to graduate and get a big girl job. I dream of the day I can come home and do a load of laundry, rather than studying for the next big test or preparing for the next presentation. Let's pray this year GOES BY FAST!

Thanksgiving was great!.. Typical Moody Thanksgiving with 3 Turkeys, a ham, and 4 dressings... Not to mention all the side dishes and deserts. I worked on my proposal like the entire break. It was awful. Thank God it's done, but next Thanksgiving my family will have to deal with my defending it, making edits, and trying to graduate. I'm sure they're thrilled.

Thesis Proposal:
So the entire time I was writing these 35 pages, I knew that they were going to be murdered with red ink. Well it wasn't murdered with red ink, but with black ink instead! Graduate school is tough, and if you have ever thought that you were a good writer, think again. My favorite comment was his suggestion of using another students proposal as an example.... When I did use their proposal as an example. Hahaha. The good news is, I made a B on this assignment, and I'm damn proud of that B. I've never worked harder or cried more over any assignment. Literally, I cried while typing it, and I cried when he told me it wasn't very good. Yes I am dramatic with my assignments, I admit it. But this is my passion, this is what I love- and I have to get better at it. I'll make the edits, and I'll meet with my thesis committee, and it will all be fine after more months of hard work and tears. Who knows, I may change everything after I meet with my chair.

Illness:
So after about a week of practically no sleep, I came down with the flu that's not the flu. I blame the lack of sleep, I think it brought my immune system down. Soo I ran a 103 fever for 3 days, and I missed 3 days of work. During this time I watched all 6 Harry Potters. I never get tired of them. EVER.

Christmas Shopping:
Christmas shopping is alll done! WOOO HOOO! Now I need to wrap presents. Well wrap or bag... I can't decide if I'm going to wrap presents or just bag them up this year. Hmmm.... Let's see how I feel after these two tests!

So... the rest of the day I am going to work on stuff for the class I'm teaching next semester, study for my test, and then go to the ESG meeting. I hope people come, we have a lot to go over today!
Tonight, our final exam is going to be listening to a guest speaker talk at Mamacitas... we get to eat and drink too! ... I'll let you know how it goes in the next blog!